KWU TUNG NORTH NEW DEVELOPMENT AREA

Kwu Tung North NDA

The Planning Scheme Area of the KTN NDA is about 447 ha and will accommodate a total population of 105,500 and provide 31,200 job opportunities upon full development. The distribution of new housing units in the KTN NDA is around 58:42 in public and private housing developments.

Capitalising on its strategic location in proximity to the railway link, highways and the existing Boundary Control Points, and respecting the rich natural and ecological resources within the area, the KTN NDA is proposed to be developed as a ‘Mixed Development Node’ with a mix of residential, commercial, research and development (R&D) and agricultural uses as well as retail and services, community and government facilities and land for natural and ecological conservation.

A future town centre accommodating a mix of residential use, retail, leisure and social and community facilities is planned around the proposed Kwu Tung railway station and public transport interchange (PTI) in the central part of the KTN NDA to serve as a major activity node. To emphasize the function of the Town Centre, a Town Plaza for pedestrians will be developed. There should be good design integration between the proposed railway station, the shopping streets on both sides of the Town Plaza and the residential/commercial developments around the proposed station. The Business and Technology Park at the south-eastern part, with emphasis on commercial and R&D uses, constitutes an important economic and employment node for the KTN NDA. The Recreational Area, comprising Fung Kong Shan Park, a swimming pool, a sports centre and a sports ground/ sports complex in the north-eastern portion of the NDA, is another focal point to create a recreational hub for the future residents.

The north-south and east-west running open spaces across the Town Centre serve as major pedestrian spines connecting to the existing communities in Kwu Tung South to the south and Ho Sheung Heung and Yin Kong in the eastern portion of the KTN NDA. A comprehensive cycle track network is also planned with linkages to the major activity nodes in the KTN NDA as well as to the existing cycle track network in the Fanling/ Sheung Shui area and the proposed cycle track network in the FLN NDA to provide convenient connections for the local communities.

The KTN NDA has a comprehensive network of recreation and green spaces comprising regional, district and local open spaces. The ecologically important Long Valley area (about 37 ha) is planned as “Long Valley Nature Park” (LVNP) which will be a “green lung” contributing to a quality living environment for the NDAs. Apart from the LVNP, which showcases the harmonious blending of farming activities with nature conservation, about 45 ha of land to the north and south of the LVNP is also retained for agricultural uses.

Other urban design elements, e.g. stepped building height and view corridors and breezeways, have been adopted for the NDA developments.

古洞北
「發展大綱圖」

古洞北新發展區

古洞北「發展大綱圖」涵蓋的規劃區佔地約447公頃。在全面發展後,該區可容納的總人口約為105,500人,及提供約31,200個就業機會。新建住宅單位的公私營房屋發展比例大概為58比42。

新發展區鄰近鐵路、公路和現有口岸,為善用此地利,同時顧及該區豐富的天然和生態資源,該區會發展成為「多元化發展中心」,集住宅、商業、研究與發展及農業用途於一體,另會發展零售和服務業,以及設有社區和政府設施,亦會有用作自然和生態保育的土地。

新發展區中部鄰近擬議古洞鐵路站及公共交通交匯處一帶,規劃發展成為未來的市鎮中心,集中包括住宅、零售、休閒及社會服務與社區設施,作為新發展區的主要活動地點。為加強作為市中心的作用,該處會興建一個行人專用的市鎮廣場。在設計上,市鎮廣場應配合擬議的鐵路站、廣場兩旁的購物街及於擬議鐵路站周邊的住宅/商業項目。位於該區東南部的商貿及科技園,著重商業及研發,是古洞北新發展區的重要經濟及就業樞紐。康樂區位於該區的東北部,由鳳崗山公園、泳池、體育中心和運動場/運動場館組成,是新發展區另一個地區焦點,日後會成為居民的康樂活動中心。

貫通市中心南北及東西的休憩用地,是該區的主要行人走廊,連接南面的古洞南現有社區及東面的河上鄉和燕崗。該區亦規劃了一個完善的單車徑網絡,連接區內主要活動地點,以及粉嶺/上水地區現有的單車徑網絡,和粉嶺北新發展區的擬議單車徑網絡,為當地社區提供方便的接駁通道。

該區設有完善的康樂及綠化空間網絡,包括區域、地區及鄰舍休憩用地。高生態價值的塱原地區(約37公頃)規劃作塱原自然生態公園,成為「綠肺」,為新發展區締造優質生活環境。除了透過自然生態公園展示耕作活動與自然保育和諧共融的一面,其北部和南部約45公頃的土地亦會保留作農業用途。

新發展區也會採納其他城市設計元素,如梯級式建築物高度、觀景走廊及通風廊。