• HOME \\ THE NEW DEVELOPMENT AREAS

THE NEW DEVELOPMENT AREAS

Introduction / Background
The Territorial Development Strategy Review in the 1990s first identified that there was potential for strategic growth in the North East New Territories (NENT). The Planning and Development Study on North East New Territories commissioned in 1998 had identified areas in Kwu Tung North (KTN), Fanling North (FLN) and Ping Che/Ta Kwu Ling (PC/TKL) to be suitable for New Development Areas (NDAs).

The Hong Kong 2030: Planning Vision and Strategy promulgated in 2007, recommended to proceed with the KTN, FLN and PC/TKL NDAs as well as the Hung Shui Kiu NDA to address the long-term housing demand and provide employment opportunities. Following the announcement in the 2007-08 Policy Address of the development of the NDAs as one of the ten major infrastructure projects for economic growth, the NENT NDAs Planning and Engineering Study was commissioned jointly by the Civil Engineering and Development Department (CEDD) and the Planning Department (PlanD) in June 2008 with a view to formulating a planning and development framework for the implementation of the KTN, FLN and PC/TKL NDAs.

It was later decided to review and replan the PC/TKL NDA in the New Territories North (NTN) Study.

The KTN and FLN NDAs cover a total area of about 614 ha. They can accommodate a total population of about 176,900 and will create about 37,700 new jobs. They will provide a mix of housing types as well as basic infrastructure and community facilities. The NDAs are planned according to four guiding principles, namely, strategic roles of the NDAs, people-oriented communities, sustainable living environment and appropriate implementation mechanism.

新界东北规划及
工程研究

前言/背景
政府当局在90年代进行的「全港发展策略检讨」中,首次提出新界东北具有策略性增长潜力。其后当局在1998年委聘顾问进行的「新界东北规划及发展研究」(下称「新界东北研究」)确定了古洞北、粉岭北和坪輋/打鼓岭适合开拓为新发展区。

当局在2007年发表的《香港2030:规划远景与策略》(下称《香港2030》)建议进行古洞北、粉岭北和坪輋/打鼓岭以及洪水桥新发展区发展计划和开拓洪水桥新发展区,以应付本港长远的房屋需求,并提供就业机会。随后在《2007至08年施政报告》公布把上述新发展区发展计划列为十大基建项目之一,以推动经济增长。土木工程拓展署联同规划署于2008年6月委聘顾问展开「新界东北新发展区规划及工程研究」,为古洞北、粉岭北和坪輋/打鼓岭订立规划及发展纲领。

及后,坪輋/打鼓岭新发展区已被纳入在「新界北研究」中再作审视和重新规划。

古洞北、粉岭北新发展区范围复盖612公顷,涉及总人口约176,900,提供约37,700个就业机会。新发展区将提供溷合的住房类型以及基础和社会设施,并根据四项指导原则规划,即新发展区的策略角色、以人为本、创造可持续的生活环境和合适的发展模式。